New Delhi, Dec 11: Eminent economist and columnist Surjit Bhalla Tuesday said he has resigned as part-time member of Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (EAC-PM) on December 1.

"I resigned as part-time member of PMEAC on December 1," Bhalla said in a tweet.

A Prime Minister's Office spokesman said that Bhalla's resignation has been accepted by the Prime Minister.

"In his request he had stated that he would be joining some other organisation," the spokesman said.

EAC-PM is an independent body constituted to give advice on economic and related issues to the Government of India, specifically to the Prime Minister.

The six member Council consists of eminent economists : Bibek Debroy (Chairman), Shri Ratan P Watal (member secretary), Rathin Roy (part-time member), Ashima Goyal (part-time member), and Shamika Ravi (part-time member).

Let the Truth be known. If you read VB and like VB, please be a VB Supporter and Help us deliver the Truth to one and all.

Tumkur: Heavy fluctuation in the health condition of the Dr Shivakumar Swamiji of Siddaganga Mutt has been reported since this morning.