Bengaluru, July 11: After the Congress, the JD(S) Thursday said the party too has approached the Assembly Speaker seeking disqualification of three of its legislators, who are among the 16 MLAs who have resigned, pushing the H D Kumaraswamy-led coalition government to the brink of collapse.

The three MLAs against whom JD(S) has sought disqualification are A H Vishwanath (Hunsur), K C Narayanagowda (K R Pet) and K Gopalaiah (Mahalakshmi Layout).

However, Speaker Ramesh Kumar said he cannot take cognisance of the JD(S)s petition to disqualify the legislators as it was not filed in the proper format.

The party has sought their disqualification for indulging in "anti-party" activities and for giving up membership voluntarily in the interest of justice.

"Yesterday I have filed a petition against three JD(S) MLAs seeking action under anti-defection law. Today I have submitted documents to Speakers office," JD(S) spokesperson Ramesh Babu said in a statement, adding that he was accompanied by advocates.

However, the speaker said he cannot take cognisance of the JD(S)s application to disqualify MLAs as it was not filed in the proper format, and those who have submitted it were neither MLAs nor party leaders in the House.

In its petition seeking disqualification of the MLAs, the JD(S) alleged that the MLAs had participated in "anti-party activities" by identifying themselves with BJP and are now trying to destabilise the coalition government.

The MLAs had addressed the media making serious allegations against the JD(S) and the coalition government, he said, adding they had acted against the directions of the party and had failed to attend the JD(S) legislature party meeting without any valid reasons.

The MLAs had also met the Governor and declared that they had withdrawn support to the government without informing the leaders of the party, the petition said.

"The facts and circumstances clearly demonstrate that the respondents have voluntarily given up the membership of JD(S). In view of the aforesaid facts and circumstances it is clear that the MLAs have got themselves disqualified from being the MLAs.

It is therefore clear that the ingredients of section 2(1) (a) of the 10th schedule of the constitution of India had been attracted by them for being disqualified from their membership," it said.

Fighting to save the coalition government, the Congress had on Tuesday sought disqualification of its rebel legislators and accused the BJP of using money power to lure its members .

The party, however, did not move any petition against seven time MLA Ramalinga Reddy, and said he was an "exception." 

Among the 16 MLAs who have resigned 13 are from the Congress and three from JD(S).

Meanwhile, Congress Legislature Party leader Siddaramaiah and KPCC chief Dinesh Gundu Rao Thursday appeared before the Speaker in connection with the petition they had moved recently seeking disqualification of rebel party MLAs.

"We have moved petition against MLAs under anti-defection law, today hearing was done concerning two members, against other members also we have given petition to Speaker.

He has to decide whether they have to be disqualified or not, only then resignation and other issues will come in...

Our petition is against all members who have resigned, except Ramalinga Reddy," Rao told reporters.

Let the Truth be known. If you read VB and like VB, please be a VB Supporter and Help us deliver the Truth to one and all.

Bengaluru: The Congress on Saturday released a list of six candidates for the December 5 assembly bypolls in Karnataka.

The party has fielded Gajanan Balachandra Mangasuli from Athani, Bharamgouda Alagouda Kage from Kagwad and Lakhan Jarkiholi from Gokak.

It has also given nomination to Venkatrao Ghorpade from Vijayanagara, Rizwan Arshad from Shivajinagar and K B Chandrashekar from Krishnarajpet.

A party statement said Congress president Sonia Gandhi has approved the names of the candidates.

The Congress also named Praveen Peter as its candidate for the biennial election to the legislative council of Karnataka.

Bypolls will be held in 15 constituencies as the sitting Congress-JDS MLAs were disqualified by then Assembly Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar ahead of a trust vote, which led to the fall of the HD Kumaraswamy government and the return of the B S Yediyurappa-led BJP to power in July.

In total 17 MLAs were disqualified but bypolls will be held in 15 of those seats as by-elections to Maski and RR Nagar constituencies are withheld with separate cases regarding them pending before the high court.

Sixteen of the 17 disqualified Congress-JD(S) legislators have joined the BJP and 13 of them have been given nomination by the saffron party from their respective seats.

The BJP will need to win at least six of these 15 seats to remain in power. Of the 15 constituencies, 12 were represented by Congress and three by JD(S).

The last date for filing of nominations for the bypolls is November 18.