Bengaluru, July 11: Hazrat Hameed Shah and Hazrat Muheeb Shah Qadri Dargah Committee has taken over the maintenance of VK Ubaidulla Government Urdu School situated at Shivaji nagar which was adopted by the IMA company.

The issue was discussed at a meeting of the Wakf Board, chaired by Minister BZ Zameer Ahmed on May 29 and decided to handover the school maintenance to the Dargah. 

Based on this, state Wakf Board Chief Executive Officer wrote to Dargah Hazrat Hameed Shah and Hazrat Muheeb Shah Qadri committee president GA Bava and informed the Board decision. GA Bava said that following the Board request, the Committee has accepted the proposal keeping in mind the future of 1,600 children. 

Speaking to 'Varthabharati', he said that every month, lakhs of rupees would require to run the school. Since his Committee was financially sound, it has taken up the responsibility as the objective of the Committee was to provide education. First, the Committee has to clear the due salaries of the teachers. Parents and children were no need to worry about it. They would try to improve the quality of education, he said.

He held discussions with Wakf Board CEO Islahuddin, BOE , previous education department commissioner Dr PC Jafer, DDPI and educationists on this regard, he said.

Let the Truth be known. If you read VB and like VB, please be a VB Supporter and Help us deliver the Truth to one and all.

Bengaluru: The Congress on Saturday released a list of six candidates for the December 5 assembly bypolls in Karnataka.

The party has fielded Gajanan Balachandra Mangasuli from Athani, Bharamgouda Alagouda Kage from Kagwad and Lakhan Jarkiholi from Gokak.

It has also given nomination to Venkatrao Ghorpade from Vijayanagara, Rizwan Arshad from Shivajinagar and K B Chandrashekar from Krishnarajpet.

A party statement said Congress president Sonia Gandhi has approved the names of the candidates.

The Congress also named Praveen Peter as its candidate for the biennial election to the legislative council of Karnataka.

Bypolls will be held in 15 constituencies as the sitting Congress-JDS MLAs were disqualified by then Assembly Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar ahead of a trust vote, which led to the fall of the HD Kumaraswamy government and the return of the B S Yediyurappa-led BJP to power in July.

In total 17 MLAs were disqualified but bypolls will be held in 15 of those seats as by-elections to Maski and RR Nagar constituencies are withheld with separate cases regarding them pending before the high court.

Sixteen of the 17 disqualified Congress-JD(S) legislators have joined the BJP and 13 of them have been given nomination by the saffron party from their respective seats.

The BJP will need to win at least six of these 15 seats to remain in power. Of the 15 constituencies, 12 were represented by Congress and three by JD(S).

The last date for filing of nominations for the bypolls is November 18.