Mangaluru (PTI): A range forest officer (RFO) in Karnataka has been sentenced to five years imprisonment and slapped a fine of Rs 1.5 crore in a disproportionate assets case.

S Raghava Patali, a resident of Derebail Konchady, range forest officer of Sahyadri zone of Belthangady in Dakshina Kannada district, was convicted and sentenced to jail on Friday by the third additional district and sessions (special) court judge B B Jakati.

If Patali fails to pay the fine, he will have to undergo one more year of simple imprisonment.

A case was filed against Patali under the Prevention of Corruption Act 1988 in the Lokayukta police station on July 21, 2011. ASP Vittaldas Nayak had conducted the investigation and submitted the chargesheet to the court.

Special public prosecutor of Lokayukta Ravindra Munnipadi appeared for the prosecution.

Let the Truth be known. If you read VB and like VB, please be a VB Supporter and Help us deliver the Truth to one and all.

Mangaluru: The Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) has appointed Anwar Manila as the social media committee coordinator of the Dakshina Kannada District Non-Resident Indian (NRI) cell of the KPCC. The appointments were made through an order issued by KPCC President DK Shivakumar on Saturday.

In addition, the party has also appointed Vice President of non-resident Indians forum and All India Congress Committee’s Indian Overseas Congress (IOC) secretary in-charge Dr. Arati Krishna as the chairperson of the KPCC NRI Cell.

Anwar, a non-resident Kannadiga residing in Dubai for the past 18 years, has been an active member of the Congress party for a decade, particularly within its social media unit. He is also serving as the member of the social media unit of INCAS. In 2019, he served as a member of the publicity committee for the 150th birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi, attended by former AICC president Rahul Gandhi in the UAE.

Alongside, Anwar has also been actively serving in social, religious and educational fields and is also recognised by several non-resident Kannadiga organisations.